Tech Digits ForumDiscussion board for various tech related topics

Know how to secure your website using SSL Certificate

Now a days we need security for our websites, may be because of different reasons like online transactions, passwords, logins and secure data.

The SSL certificate is a green symbol of trust.

There are several types of SSL certificates. They can be grouped based on:

1.Validation level
2.Number of secured domains/sub-domains

Domain Validation

For this type of SSL certificate, domain validation is done using email or adding a DNS record.

In short,you need to validate your ownership of the domain name.

This kind of certificate can be obtained in a few minutes (or occasionally a few hours). This is ideal for those who don’t have an organization & no extra security is needed.

It’s the cheapest kind of SSL certificate and is recommended where security is not the most vital factor.

Organization Validation

This is the minimum certificate suggested for e-commerce portals.

The Certificate Authority (CA) validates domain ownership & other information through the use of public databases.

The major difference between DV & OV is the company validation is done by the Certificate Authority. It’s not as extensive as EV (detailed below), but potentially better than Domain Validation.

Extended Validation

This type of certificate is highly recommended for any website where a transaction is happening.

Obtaining the DV & OC certificates are easy, whereas EV certificates require a strict authentication process.

This type of certificate displays the organization the certificate was issued to in the browser.

Most banking, finance, and e-commerce site use EV certificates as it offers the most popular green HTTPS address bar.

Types of SSL certificates based on secured domains

This is going to be an important decision for anyone who is planning to buy an SSL certificate.

Apart from the above three, you also need to pick the certificate type based on domains & subdomains you have.

Let’s quickly look at the different types of SSL certificates based on supported hostnames.

1.Single Name SSL Certificate

Only a single hostname is secured with this SSL type.

For example, if you buy a certificate for, it will not secure

Note: A Single Name SSL Certificate can also be used to secure only a sub-domain.

Ex: You can secure and not

2.Wildcard SSL Certificate

This one secures unlimited sub-domains for a single domain.

Purchasing a Wildcard SSL certificate for will also allow me to secure:

3.Multi-domain SSL Certificate

A multi-domain SSL certificate supports all different domains & subdomains.
This is highly recommended for those who have multiple domains & subdomains.

4.Unified Communications Certificate (UCC)

UCCs allow customers to protect up to 100 domains using the same certificate.
Unified Communications Certificates are specifically designed to secure Microsoft® Exchange and Office communications environments.

You can get your SSL certificate from top providers like Geo trust, DigiCert, TrustWave, Comodo etc.

So get your website protected now based on your priorities.

Your comments below:

One Comment

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *